CAHPO Award Nomination!

The Chief Allied Health Professionals Officer (CAHPO) Awards 2022 have announced their nominees and we are proud to announce the Oxleas AHP Preceptorship team have been shortlisted for the AHP Digital Practice Award.  The award will be presented by NHS England.

Felicity Devereux (Podiatrist) and Hannah Tomkins (Physiotherapist) have been shortlisted from a range of national nominees.  AHPs are the third largest clinical workforce in the NHS. The awards provide an opportunity to highlight the incredible work being carried out by Allied Health Professionals (AHPs) and demonstrate the vital role they play in delivering the ambitions set out in the NHS Long Term Plan.

The AHP Preceptorship Programme launched in January 2019 within Oxleas and expanded to welcome Pan-London Mental Health and Community Trusts in February 2020 with funding from Health Education England.  The programme has now expanded further to welcome National Partners to help build a network and community of AHP’s.

Patsy Fung (Trust Lead for Allied Health Professionals) said: ‘The idea of an Allied Health Profession Preceptorship Programme first came about in September 2017 when Oxleas devised a workforce retention plan for NHS England. It has been wonderful growing the idea from seed and seeing the impact it has had with bringing the five AHP groups together to collectively support our future workforce in their transition from ‘student’ to ‘accountable clinician’. Our ambition is to ensure that every AHP graduate has access to high quality preceptorship support enabling them to flourish in their clinical care.

Huge congratulations and super well done to Felicity and Hannah for their phenomenal achievement expanding the programme regionally and nationally culminating to being shortlisted for the National CAHPO Awards 2022′

The winners of the CAHPO awards will be announced during a virtual ceremony on Thursday 13th October – the day before National AHP’s Day!